Week One…Over!

Can’t believe I’m saying this but my first week at University is over already! It’s gone by in a flash but at the same time it feels an age since I had my first lecture on Monday morning. It feels like I’ve been here a lot longer! I suppose this proves how quickly you can become accustomed to situations you felt uncomfortable in at first. I hope this translates when I start my school experience later in the year!

I really enjoyed my induction week. There was just the right blend of informative and necessary information but balanced out with more fun tasks. I think I’m safe in saying our activity on Wednesday was one of the more fun tasks; performing songs from “Jack in the Beanstalk”. It was listed on our timetable as “Drama Day” which instantly got everyone worried and that seemed to be the main topic of conversation wafting round our first few lectures. Secretly, I was looking forward to it. I’m a bit of a drama geek; I studied Drama at GCSE and Performance Studies at A Level, and I’ve been in many a school production (my favourite playing Marty in Grease- good times!)

It turned out fine in the end and I think everyone realised if you just got stuck in and didn’t worry too much about people watching you then it actually was less embarrassing. That’s not to say I wasn’t nervous, because I was. But I think this activity wasn’t just for the “fun” element. I think it was to help people realise that being a teacher means putting yourself in uncomfortable situations at times, and that it’s something that you need to become used to.

The rest of my week consisted of meetings with my Professional Tutor group, information services and finally my faculty welcome party. I was so impressed by this; it took place in a huge marquee where they hold graduation, and there were performers and entertainment along with food and drink. It was nice to meet people that I hadn’t already and gave us a chance to talk to our lecturers and introduce ourselves.

Overall I’ve had a great first week and can’t wait to get stuck in next week!

One thought on “Week One…Over!

Leave a Reply

