Back to school.

So tomorrow is Friday and then only one weekend stands between me and the start of a long, and very important, school placement. My penultimate placement before I qualify as an actual teacher.

I’ve bought new stationery; post-its galore, file dividers (always the plastic ones, paper ones tear easy, thank me later), plastic wallets, stickers…despite this, I know it’s going to take a lot more than shiny stationery to get me through.

I am really excited. I feel excited that I’m going to be able to do what I joined the course for and actually interact with children. It feels like a long time since I actually had to create lesson plans, mark books, attend meetings, assess children’s progress and the other components of what makes a teacher’s daily role. I can’t deny though, that I am also very nervous! I get like this before every placement but as soon as I am there it disappears. Well, until observation day…

My first observation is on a Maths lesson and I’m teaching/introducing Roman numerals to a class of mixed year 3/4s. Has anyone taught this before and if so, how did you do it? I’d be really interested to hear your ideas 🙂

I’m also hoping to create a class blog which I will, of course, be advertising tirelessly. Stay tuned (hopefully!) for more information.

Just a brief update on what’s been happening. I’ve mainly been enjoying the Easter holidays in the traditional way; basking in glorious sunshine (for the second week, anyway), spending time with family and friends and gorging on copious amounts of chocolate. I’m enjoying the freedom before I become Miss Bartlett again!

Bring it on…

3 thoughts on “Back to school.

  1. Pingback: Back to school.
  2. I used a historical approch:
    Counting on fingers (note grouping of 5 & 10)
    Hash marks (4 vertical lines & 1 horizontal for groupings of 5)
    Show the basic Roman symbols (l, V, X L, C) as clusters of 1, 5, 10, 50, 100
    Have the students discover how to how to show other numbers with the fewest strokes

Leave a Reply

