One week as an NQT

One week as an NQT

A week ago I had my first INSET day as an NQT and now I’m into my first full week of teaching. I won’t lie – my brain is completely baffled at the sheer volume of information I’ve processed in the past week. There is SO MUCH. To know, remember, learn, retain. But I expected that, and I’m working hard to take it one step at a time.

Alongside the steep learning curve, I have loved it. It is everything I thought it would be and more. My class are lovely, the school is incredible. It’s such a positive, forward thinking school and it’s instantly obvious that the children come first in everything, which is great. The staff are such an incredibly supportive bunch of people who, even when they are running around trying to sort their own classes, or horrendously busy with something, will stop to help you out in an instance. I feel lucky to be part of such a great staff team and feel like I’ve known some of them for a lot longer than I actually have.

The workoad is already enormous but I’m trying to keep calm and focused and just doing what I can. For example, I didn’t complete my maths marking today and I was tempted to bring it home. However, I’d been in since 7am and had spent after school marking English – so I walked away. I’ve only got one pair of hands. I can do it in the morning. My evenings are going to be mine and mine only wherever possible

This is is just a quick post to check in and say I’m alive and loving it. Maybe a more fancy post will come soon.

I hope everyone else has had a great start to the term 🙂

Leave a comment